What an EMOTIONAL time!

Sorry I’ve been MIA the past couple of weeks; news was slow, emotions are high, and nerves are wrecked.  We had anticipated contact from the Birth Mother for three weeks, and during the third week I finally received text messages promising phone calls.  The calls never came, instead more promisory text messages.  No phone call led to a cancelled home study and a very distrought G; I was left in a pile of tears and broken heartedness.  I cried and screamed and questioned and cried.  I just didn’t understand.

Just as I had started picking up my pieces, the Birth Mother called.  She said she is 100% on board for the adoption, there is absolutely no question that we will get to raise our Bundle of Joy.  *Insert the hope of excitement here* I would be lying if I told you I am super excited.  It would be untruthful to say that we are beyond containing ourselves; the most we can allow ourselves is to be cautiously optimistic.  And that we are!  We have gotten the diaper bag ready, we will get the car seat this week, the nursery is fully stocked and ready to go.  We have signed up for our registry, and our love for this little miracle grows every day! Last week Hubby and I built a gate for our deck and I painted our hallway. Our floors have been shined, filters changed, alarm batteries replaced, bed linens changed, and curtains washed.

Our home study is re-scheduled for this coming week, and as far as we know, we are simply waiting on the call that Birth Mother is in labor.  We will have about a 5 hour drive to the hospital, but I think we might set a new record for GoogleMaps! Ha  Without the pressure of home projects to be completed, I did finally decorate our home for Christmas this week.  I normally put up 4-5 trees, and decorate each room of the house.  I figured this year, with the anticipated arrival of Baby B the first of the year, I should scale back and only put up what it will take less than one day to take down.  We are festive, but not overboard this year.  I think J likes it this way 😉

Thanks for keeping us in your thoughts and prayers! With each passing day we are more and more aware of just how much love we have in our lives!

It's been ugly, I've been unkind, and he's never waivered in his love for me.  This man is the best there is!

It’s been ugly, I’ve been unkind, and he’s never waivered in his love for me. This man is the best there is!

With love and gratitude,

J&G

Leave a Reply

